A little music to start the engine

The first blog post on my new website and it’s not about politics or literature. No! Music!

Most people know me as someone who’s obsessed with politics, history and literature. Oké, and food. I enjoy cooking and baking. But I also love music. I’m not always listening to music like some people who seem to have their headphones glued to their ears, and I sometimes stop entirely for months on end. But I always stumble across an artist that triggers me to start listening all over again and that’s what I’d like to share with you today.

His name is John Moreland and although I’m not a fan of the term ‘pure’ it seems to be the only fitting word that I can use to describe his style. Honest texts and a voice through which you can hear the sincerity. That’s John.

One of my favourite songs is 359 AM. And the line that really gets me every time is: “But my dreams don’t sing like before”. It really makes you reflect on your own life and ask the question, “what are my dreams?”

Lyrics of the song can be found here: https://johnmoreland.bandcamp.com/track/3-59-am
Feature image source: https://secure.flickr.com/photos/mattlucht/8261847794/

Leave a Reply

